2015 App of the Year Awards

We want your apps for the 2015 App of the Year Awards – bolder, bigger, and better than ever

The App of the year awards are back – with an exciting new format and categories, focusing on content, genre and pitting like against like. Whether you’re a new developer, an experienced one, an old hat at this competition or a newcomer, we want your apps (yes, all of them!) for this year’s awards.

The new format will allow our expert judges to better compare competing apps, instead of getting bogged inception a little over three years ago. As the industry balloons (and matures), the Awards have had to keep down in the platform divisions. Because of this new format, we’ve opened up our criteria, so even past entered evolving to stay relevant and to continue the remarkable growth demonstrated. apps or tweaked and re-launched apps are welcome for entry in the genre-related categories. This all boils down to more chances to compete, more chances to grab some serious recognition for your hard work, and ultimately more chances to win!

App development in SA keeps on growing and changing, and the App of the Year Awards are evolving right and a genre-focus, and so are the Awards. This will assist our judges to better compare apps fairly and avoids alongside to stay relevant and responsive, and maintain our reputation as the premier app awards in the unnecessary duplication across categories – all in our quest to crown the App of the Year 2015. country… All in our quest to crown the App of the Year 2015.

The new categories (and sub-categories) for your entries are as follows:

1. Best Enterprise 

  • Media & communications
  • Ecommerce
  • Business solutions & sales
  • Utilities
  • Navigation (and geo location apps)

2. Best Consumer 

  • Finance & banking 
  • Entertainment & gaming (incl. kids apps) 
  • Media & communications (incl. community & social) 
  • Lifestyle (incl. health & fitness, and personal education)
  • Productivity (incl. utilities) 
  • Creative apps (incl. Photo & video)

3. Best Enterprise Development App

4. Best Breakthrough Developer

5. Most Innovative App

6. Wild Card (for apps that defy categorisation)

We will award the MTN Business ‘App of the Year’ Award from an app entered within the above categories. It could be yours.

For all the details and explanations of our new categories, visit www.appoftheyear.co.za/submit-your-app/ 

Please note that entries close on the 22nd of June 2015.

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 8.33.20 AM